Gun store Shooting Locations It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:28 pm

Rules WGO Chat Room Gear Rent Me Shield NRA SAF CCKRBA
Calendar

Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
 Jack Pass Pit to become trailhead 
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I was checking weather and road conditions for the Wild Sky Wilderness area in preparation for spring/summer shooting, camping and hiking I enjoy.

The conditions noted on the USFS website for FS65 reads an interesting note:

"The Jacks Pass gravel pit will be closed indefinitely due to trail construction of the Frog Mountain trail. Please call the Skykomish District for further information"

I've been shooting at that pit for almost 20 years, and have on a few occasions seen some backpackers head up that mountain. I have not called the ranger district yet. It would be a shame if the pit is closed for shooting and turned into a parking lot for the trailhead.

Quick search found plans for a volunteer work party next month to construct the trail.

Thoughts?

Mon Apr 22, 2019 7:21 pm
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Logizyme wrote:
I was checking weather and road conditions for the Wild Sky Wilderness area in preparation for spring/summer shooting, camping and hiking I enjoy.

The conditions noted on the USFS website for FS65 reads an interesting note:

"The Jacks Pass gravel pit will be closed indefinitely due to trail construction of the Frog Mountain trail. Please call the Skykomish District for further information"

I've been shooting at that pit for almost 20 years, and have on a few occasions seen some backpackers head up that mountain. I have not called the ranger district yet. It would be a shame if the pit is closed for shooting and turned into a parking lot for the trailhead.

Quick search found plans for a volunteer work party next month to construct the trail.

Thoughts?

This is a pretty common tactic it would seem... where "multiple use" is used as an excuse to phase out shooting.