Gun store Shooting Locations It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 6:22 am

Rules WGO Chat Room Gear Rent Me Shield NRA SAF CCKRBA
Calendar

Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Cerakote, when is too far? 
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

As many of the board members here know I have been doing cerakote and gun restoration for many yrs. it started as just a hobby for myself while I was out of work from a motorcycle accident . I’ve done a metric shit ton of work for people , friends , family , friends of friends and many board members here and on the other sites.

My question is this, the need for restoration or customization is user subjective. Myself, I’m a 1911 NUT, and many of my 1911s are custom to my taste. But I would never, NEVER coat an old colt 1911 with history !
But where do we draw the line? Is it value, age, rarity??
When do I have to feel bad about “ruining” a firearm with cerakote.

I realize this is gona draw opinions all over the spectrum, but trying to gauge my opinion against what others think?

Thoughts?

Sun Jun 17, 2018 9:57 pm
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I used to think that altering vintage/historic firearms was borderline criminal, but I've since changed my mind. Bluing is not a very good protective coating - at least not as good as more modern finishes. To me, it's more important that the firearm last a long time and get used than stay "pretty" but turn into a rusty hunk of metal, or never leave the safe. If cerakote is going to give that cool old gun some longevity and make sure it gets used, then I say go for it. However, the traditionalist in me says don't take it too far by cerakoting it in Zombie Green. But to each their own.

I guess it also depends on the current condition of the gun. If it's in great shape, I'd leave it alone. If it's rough around the edges, then it's a prime candidate for a facelift.

Mon Jun 18, 2018 6:17 am
Site Supporter
Site Supporter