Gun store Shooting Locations It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:45 pm

Rules WGO Chat Room Gear Rent Me Shield NRA SAF CCKRBA
Calendar

Forum rules

Nothing contained in this section shall be construed as legal advice. All members and guests are advised to perform due diligence in regards to laws and legal actions.

Reply to topic  [ 76 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
 CPL delayed for 60 days 
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I've got a couple handguns coming into my chosen FFL tomorrow and yesterday was the 30 day mark for my CPL application.

I called the King Country Courthouse and they said it's not even scheduled for another 32 days (which would still put them 2 days outside of their 60 day mark), she asked if I'm an out-of-state resident, which I'm not, I've been in King County for three years and have a drivers license stating as such and I applied as such.

She asked if I was applying under an alien firearms license and I'm not. I'm a permanent resident. So she'll refer it to the head of the department who was out of the office at 3:30 when I called and will be in tomorrow.

Looking at the law
http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=9.41.070

It should definitely be "within thirty days after the filing".

I don't want to be pushy, I just want to be able to collect it tomorrow so i can participate in my match on Saturday with my new toys!

Has anyone else had similar delays outside of the thirty day time limit they have mandated by state law?

Wed Jan 11, 2017 4:02 pm
In Memoriam
In Memoriam

Problem is, there is no penalty if they take longer than 30 days unless you want to try and sue them.
Some counties just hand it to you while you are there, some make you wait.
Takes them a couple minutes to get the background check back.
Depends on the policy set by the CLEO for that agency.

Wed Jan 11, 2017 4:08 pm
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Guntrader wrote: