Gun store Shooting Locations It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:02 pm

Rules WGO Chat Room Gear Rent Me Shield NRA SAF CCKRBA
Calendar

Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 If you carry... Shoot to "Neutralize" or what? 

What does "Neutralize" mean to you?
Shoot until they stop being a threat (be it dead or alive) 83%  83%  [ 38 ]
Shoot to Kill 9%  9%  [ 4 ]
Shoot to Wound 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
Shoot to Incapacitate 4%  4%  [ 2 ]
Other 4%  4%  [ 2 ]
Total votes : 46

If you carry... Shoot to "Neutralize" or what? 
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Please note I am not a lawyer. My intent is to cause thought for you and consider some mind sets or thought process.

For those that carry on a regular basis or irregular...

The hope is to never utilizes your sidearm.
But in the event of needing to defend oneself or others...

What is your definition of shoot to "neutralize?"

Some will take "neutralize" as to Kill.... some will say when the shooter (aka Bad Guy...) stops being a threat... meaning wounded or even not... they stop being a threat, as in they give up or stop moving or taking action to be a "threat..."

Legally the use of deadly force for self defense as a rule of thumb is somewhat equal to the threat in hand. So if someone is to cause great bodily harm one has a right to defend themselves by what means they have at hand to protect themselves or others.

One consideration in the past has been the scenario that an intruder comes into your home and once faced with a great amount of "resistance" or more fight then they had bargained for may surrender or run away... they stop being a threat almost immediately.

But with more recent events of shooters out to do great harm to large and larger number of people... planned shootings at theaters, schools and even malls with the direct intent to kill or wound as many people as they can...

Where is that line for these types of shooters? "One," set to do great harm with the intention of killing until they can't.