Gun store Shooting Locations It is currently Fri May 03, 2024 8:35 am

Rules WGO Chat Room Gear Rent Me Shield NRA SAF CCKRBA
Calendar

Forum rules

Discussion or advice on how to create an Illegal NFA item will result in an immediate ban. No advice given within should replace user due diligence. Always consult a lawyer / professional.

Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
 Is there a universal suppressor? 
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I'm a noob to the suppressor world so be gentle...

I ran across a review of a multi calibre unit

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M8q2AjxjUlc

and it piqued my interested. Is there a universal, serviceable can that will work with 45acp, 308, and 22lr ? Yeah, that hits the range from size to power. Of course something like that would not be as efficient due to it's broad parameters but it would conceivably cut down on cost as you'd only buy ONE suppressor and a bunch of adapters.

Here's one that is CLOSE
http://libertycans.net/mystic-x/

its for the 9mm and you can do 300 BLK but nothing hotter through it.

Anyone have experience with universal cans like this?

Wed Dec 10, 2014 10:51 am
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I'm not the expert... dj_fatstyles is..

But until he chimes in...Here are a my few points.

1) You can use a 308 can to do many things... but it's not recommended for 22LR
It doesn't mean it's not possible. It's just that most 30 caliber cans are sealed and are not easily serviceable and with .22LR lead build up is a concern. That is why most .22 can are serviceable (not all).

2) Not all cans will fit all firearms. You often need an adapter from the firearm to the suppressor (can). There are some models that will have some multi ability but it just depends on quick detach (QD) or threaded onto barrel and what "suppressor and adapter you are using.

3) rifle to rifle or pistol to pistol? Mixing it up?

So it's a yes and no answer... just depends on "what" calibers and how you are wanting them attached (adapter...)